Source of Informations


Eritrean Merhawi Kudus Is Africa’s Third Best Cyclist

Louis Meintjes, élu cycliste africain de l'année 2017


 December 20, 2017 
The winner is known since Wednesday. Louis Meintjes was named African Cyclist of the Year 2017 by the jury of sports directors, coaches, leaders, African riders, African and European journalists chaired by former French champion Bernard Hinault.
The South African rider of UAE Emiates team is ahead of Rwandan Joseph Areruya (Dimension Data) and Eritrean Merhawi Kudus. ”  It’s an immense honor. I am very grateful for the support of the peoples of Africa. I hope I can carry the African flag high in 2018 “, was the first reaction of Meintjes who had already won the award in 2013 . He becomes the first rider to be distinguished twice.
Tesfom Okubamariam, winner last year, finished 8th.
The African Cyclist of the Year Award has been initiated since 2012 by the organizers of the Tropicale Amissa Bongo to recopmate ”  the rider who, by his results on the continent and on the rest of the planet, has contributed the most to shine and to make African cycling known.
The Top 10
1.Louis Meintjes
2. Joseph Areruya
3. Merhawi Kudus
4. Tshgabu Grmay
5. Salaheddine Mraouni
6. Willie Smit
7. Meron Teshome
8. Tesfom Okubamariam
9. Amine Ahmed Galdoune
10. Meron Abraham
African Cyclist of the Year Award Winners
2012: Natnael Berhane
2013: Louis Meintjes
2014: Mekseb Debesay
2015: Daniel Teklehaimanot
2016: Tesfom Okubamariam