Horn of Africa: UN chief welcomes Djibouti agreement between Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia

Eritrea, ሓተታ/Editorial:for comprehensive cooperation September 8, 2018

Horn of Africa: UN chief welcomes Djibouti agreement between Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia

Secretary-General António Guterres briefs press at UN Headquarters on 12 July 2018.

8 September 2018
Peace and Security
UN Secretary-General António Guterres has welcomed Thursday’s meeting in Djibouti with the foreign ministers of Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia with the Djiboutian head of diplomacy.

The meeting, held on 6 September in Djibouti, resulted in the signing of a cooperation agreement between Eritrea, Ethiopia and Somalia.

Through his spokesman, the UN chief stressed that “the agreement reached among the four Ministers to work together to restore peace and stability in the region is a positive example for the Horn and beyond.”

“The Secretary-General reiterates the readiness of the United Nations to support countries in the Horn of Africa region in consolidating the recent remarkable gains.” he said.
Joint Declaration on Comprehensive Cooperation Between Ethiopia, Somalia and Eritrea

Considering that the peoples of Ethiopia, Somalia and Eritrea share close ties of geography, history, culture and religion as well as vital common interests;

Respecting each other’s independence, sovereignty, and territorial integrity;

Desiring to bolster their historical ties to achieve their lofty objectives;

The Governments of Ethiopia, Somalia and Eritrea have reached the following agreement that reflects the aspirations of their peoples:-

1. The three countries shall foster comprehensive cooperation that advances the goals of their peoples.

2. The three countries shall build close political, economic, social, cultural and security ties.

3. The three countries shall work in coordination to promote regional peace and security.

4. The three governments hereby establish a Joint High-Level Committee to coordinate their efforts in the framework of this Joint Declaration.

Done in Asmara, September 5, 2018

For the Federal Democratic Republic of Ethiopia
Prime Minister Abiy Ahmed

For the Federal Republic of Somalia
President Mohamed Abdullahi Mohamed

For the State of Eritrea
President Isaias Afwerki



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *